Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
L'Art de la Gravure de Lakshmi Dutt
24 juin 2016

THE ART OF ART

the art of art

About a month ago, there was a post about my printmaking studio class in Sarcelles (a.k.a. the burbs between Paris and that other place (?)).  On Thursday last week I collected my prints and said good-bye to my new friends. A few of us exchanged numbers and made plans to meet up soon and talk printing and paint. I hope it happens!

Perhaps the most important thing I took away from these last five weeks was that I can’t get any better at what I love to do if I don’t make it a priority (printmaking, writing, photography, languages). I can’t say that I was productive to the max. Simply having to set aside five hours a week to spend in the train and in the studio marked how important printing is to me.

Printing in all of it’s excitement (taille-douce, collage printing, lino, pointe sèche, etc.) also is a group effort. For one of the presses in the studio, it took two people to turn the wheel…well, there were a few of us who could do it alone, but not without breaking a sweat. (And it’s more fun with two – the chance of bonking heads is HUGE!)

Since I’ve got a move coming up (Strasbourg, here I come),  a Master’s research proposal to write (only 5,000 characters) and a wedding to plan (Kansas City!) I don’t know how much time I will actually be able to devote to art or even bathing, but  I will try best sketch a bit and wash my hair at least once a week. (Can I get an accountability partner?)

I have already begun the search for a printmaking studio in Strasbourg.

Right now I’ve got a wood plate that I’ve done a bit of scratching on…it’s a copy of a Lynd Ward print from one of his woodcut novels. Maybe it will be done before the move…

I’ll leave you with a final photo of a fellow artist (L) and Lakshmi (R) (the best printmaking prof ever (no hyperbole, really.)). The rest of the photos can be seen on my flickr page.

Melissa Parsons

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
L'Art de la Gravure de Lakshmi Dutt
Publicité
L'Art de la Gravure de Lakshmi Dutt
Archives
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 5 229
Publicité